Picture
Every training manual, every magazine and every runner will tell you that sometimes you have a take a day off. 
Since I am just getting back into the thick of things, I planned to run short distances every day this week but last night I woke up with a monster headache and after tossing and turning and finally going back to sleep, I woke up this morning with the same monster headache and his mother too. Pounding headache, muscle aches, cramps, nausea, eye strain, all of it. I don't like to take medication, at least not until I've tried and exhausted my personal 4-point remedy: hydration, massage, exercise and rest. So I flushed my system with water, lots and lots of water, I stretched, I massaged all the pressure points on my feet, my neck, I rubbed my own back, massaged my scalp, had some fruit, but nothing was working. Finally, I decided maybe all I need is some good old fashioned rest.
So today, I decided to bypass the running shoes and the sweats and find my cheetah-print Snuggie, power up the Netflix and just... REST!

Paul
11/26/2013 10:08:52 am

After hunting or burst of speed, like you demonstrated when crossing the street to beat the light, cheetahs need at least an half of hour rest. Seeing that you are wearing your inner animal, don't rest too long.

Reply



Leave a Reply.